About Us

Who We Are

Mission - To enhance the science and practice of lipidology and promote optimal cardiometabolic health. 

Consistent with the mission statement, the National Lipid Association's operating principles are:​

  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
    The NLA will promote diversity, equity, and inclusion in all aspects of the organization.
  • Professionalism
    The NLA will enhance medical knowledge, clinical skills, and related business activities that provide for more effective patient outcomes. Promoting and sustaining the highest ethical standards will be an essential component of these activities.
  • Science
    The NLA will provide a platform to highlight gaps in scientific knowledge and to report on evolving and future needs in the related sciences.
  • Public Service
    The NLA will enhance efforts to reduce death and disability related to disorders of lipid metabolism in patients.
  • Multidisciplinary Approach
    The NLA will strive to provide professional activities that serve the members of the NLA. All related health professionals will be able to join, train and be represented to the scope of their practice.
  • Continuous Growth and Development
    The NLA will promote responsible outreach to all regions of the country to make available the benefits of the NLA in every community.
  • Business Ethics
    The NLA will promote its activities with the utmost respect to acceptable business practices, ensuring all interactions will be undertaken in a responsible and ethical fashion.
  • Cooperation
    The NLA will be supportive of other organizations with common purposes and values and will seek active interactions with such organizations.

Lipid Specialist - A healthcare professional certified by the American Board of Clinical Lipidology (ABCL) or Accreditation Council for Clinical Lipidology (ACCL) specializing in the identification and management of dyslipidemia and related metabolic disorders which lead to atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD) and other morbidities.

History - The NLA was created out of the success established by the Southeast Lipid Association (SELA), which was formed in 1997 by a group of pioneering lipid researchers and clinicians from the Southeastern United States. By December 2000, the SELA Board of Directors voted for a national association to be formed to promote specialization in the area of Clinical Lipidology.

The Board felt strongly that regional societies similar to SELA should be established to expand its education-focused agenda to a wider number of lipid specialists representing all areas of the country.

These regional entities would form the governance of the "National Lipid Association." In 2002, the National Lipid Association was officially incorporated in Florida as a 501(c)(6) non-profit professional membership organization. Since then, the NLA has formed a total of five regional chapters representing more than 2,000 members from across the United States (Southeast Chapter, Northeast Chapter, Midwest Chapter, Southwest Chapter, Pacific Chapter).

Related Organizations

The NLA partners with a number of domestic and international organizations to accomplish our shared goals.

Leadership and Chapters

The National Lipid Association (NLA) is a nonprofit, multidisciplinary medical society focused on enhancing the practice of lipid management in clinical medicine. The NLA represents more than 2,000 members in the United States and provides continuing medical education for physicians and other healthcare professionals to advance professional development and attain certification in clinical lipidology.

Bylaws and Administrative Policies

Proposed and current Bylaws. Policy and Position statements are listed here, as well as consensus recommendations. Any appropriately credentialed health professional that is engaged in the treatment of patients with lipid disorders or involved in research or educational activities relating.



Past NLA Presidents


W. Virgil Brown, MD
2002 — 2004
W. Virgil Brown, MD, MNLA


John Guyton, MD
2004 — 2005
John R. Guyton, MD, MNLA


Peter Jones, MD
2005 — 2006
Peter H. Jones, MD, MNLA


James McKenney, PharmD
2006 — 2007
James M. McKenney, PharmD, MNLA


Anne Goldberg, MD
2007 — 2008
Anne C. Goldberg, MD, MNLA


Thomas Bersot, MD, PhD
2008 — 2009
Thomas P. Bersot, MD, PhD, MNLA


Vera Bittner, MD, MSH
2009 — 2010
Vera A. Bittner, MD, MSPH, MNLA


Michael Davidson, MD, FACC
2010 — 2011
Michael H. Davidson, MD, MNLA


Penny Kris-Etherton, PhD
2011 — 2012
Penny Kris-Etherton, PhD, RD, CLS, MNLA


Peter Toth, MD
2012 — 2013
Peter P. Toth, MD, PHD, MNLA


Matthew Ito, PharmD
2013 — 2014
Matthew K. Ito, PharmD, CLS, MNLA


Terry Jacobson, MD
2014 — 2015
Terry A. Jacobson, MD, MNLA


Carl Orringer
2015 — 2016
Carl E. Orringer, MD, MNLA


Joyce Ross
2016 — 2017
Joyce L. Ross, MSN, CRNP, CLS, MNLA


James Underberg
2017 — 2018
James A. Underberg, MD, MS, MNLA


Alan Brown
2018 — 2019
Alan S. Brown, MD, MNLA


Antonio Gotto
2019 — 2020
Antonio M. Gotto, MD, DPhil, MNLA


2020 — 2022
Joseph J. Saseen, PharmD, CLS, MNLA


2022 — 2023
Kevin C. Maki, PhD, CLS, MNLA


2023 - 2024
Daniel E. Soffer, MD, FNLA


Publish Date: 
Friday, January 1, 2016 - 01:45

This page was last updated: Jun 26, 2024