Alan S. Brown, MD, FNLA Takes Reins as National Lipid Association President

Last Updated: Monday, 30-Apr-2018 19:00:00 EDT

Chicago-area cardiologist assumes role during NLA Scientific Sessions in Las Vegas

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. — Alan S. Brown, MD, FNLA, officially assumed the role of National Lipid Association (NLA) President at the annual Scientific Sessions in Las Vegas on Sunday after serving for the past year as President-Elect. He succeeds New York City-based lipidologist James A. Underberg, MD, MS, FNLA, who will be the NLA’s Immediate Past President.

Dr. Brown is a cardiologist based in Park Ridge, Ill., and is currently the Director of the Division of Cardiology as well as the Lipid Clinic at Advocate Lutheran General Hospital. He also serves as Co-Director of the Cardiology Service Line for Advocate Healthcare.  A certified clinical lipidologist as a Diplomate of the American Board of Clinical Lipidology, Brown has also been an interventional cardiologist since 1985. In addition, he has served as a Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine and Cardiology at Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine in Chicago since 1993. Dr. Brown has been a member of the NLA since 2003 and previously served as Midwest Lipid Association President and as an NLA board member.

“I am honored and humbled to serve as National Lipid Association President,” Brown said. “There has never been a more exciting time than now to be a clinical lipidologist and a member of our organization. Over the next year, I look forward to building on the great foundation that our leaders before me have worked so hard to establish. We will focus on the continued excellence of the education we offer to healthcare professionals, enhancing the membership experience and enhancing the NLA’s reputation and influence nationally, as well as placing continued emphasis on the importance of lipid management in clinical medicine.”

Brown has served as Governor/President of the Illinois Chapter of the American College of Cardiology (ACC) and subsequently was elected Chairman of the Board of Governors for the American College of Cardiology in 2004. He is a Fellow of the NLA, the American Society of Preventative Cardiology, the American Heart Association, and the American College of Cardiology and also has been a member of the ACC's Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease Committee, the Annual Scientific Program Committee, and served as a member of the ACC Board of Trustees from 2003 through 2006. He also served on the ACC Task Force for Appropriate Use Criteria from 2014-2016.

Brown has authored numerous articles in the field of lipid management and prevention, as well as two book chapters. He graduated with a bachelor’s degree from Loyola University-Chicago Stritch School of Medicine in 1980 and completed his internship (1981), residency (1983) and fellowship (1985) at Loyola. He is also board certified in Internal Medicine, Cardiology and Echocardiography.

Other NLA officers for the 2018-2019 term are President-Elect Antonio M. Gotto, MD, DPhil, FNLA (New York, N.Y.); Secretary/Treasurer Joseph J. Saseen, PharmD, CLS, FNLA (Aurora, Colo.); Executive Council Chair Elizabeth J. Jackson, CNS, MSN, CLS, FNLA (Austin, Texas); Executive Council Chair Kevin C. Maki, PhD, CLS, FNLA (Wheaton, Ill.); and Executive Council Chair Krishnaswami Vijayaraghavan, MD, FNLA (Scottsdale, Ariz.).

Copyright © 2018 National Lipid Association. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy Terms of Service